Welcome to the Department of Anaesthesiology

Departmental Profile

Chariman of Department: Dr. Michael O'Sullivan

Current staff in Anaesthesiology are listed below.

Contact Main Reception to contact Consultant Anaesthetists.

Email for the department may be directed to anaesthesia.consultants@sivuh.ie

Dr Tony Hennessy
Dr Stephen Mannion
Dr Clare Murray
Dr Jawad Mustafa
Dr Michael O’Sullivan


The Department of Anaesthesiology, South Infirmary Victoria University Hospital (SIVUH) provides clinical care in general and regional anaesthesia to both children and adults and has an academic programme that includes postgraduate education, undergraduate teaching and clinical research.

The hospital performs over 10,000 general or regional anaesthetics per year in 9 operating theatres, of which over 1,500 are in children aged from 3 months to 15 years of age.

The hospital is a regional centre for Otorhinolaryngology surgery and the second largest Head & Neck Surgical Cancer centre in Ireland.

The hospital also provides anaesthesia for Maxillo-facial, Plastic, General, Dental, Orthopaedic, Ophthalmology and Gynaecology surgeries.

Training Modules and Competencies are available in:

  • Advanced Airway Management
  • General Paediatric Anaesthesia
  • Peripheral Nerve Blocks
  • Total Intravenous Anaesthesia (TIVA)
  • Ambulatory Anaesthesia.

The Department is accredited for training by the College of Anaesthetists of Ireland. A total of 2 years of training at the hospital can be accepted as part of an application for registration on the Specialist Register in Anaesthesia: 1 year at SAT Years 1 to 2 level and one year at SAT Years 3-5. The Department is supportive of study leave for appropriate examinations.


Paediatric Patient Selection

Page last updated: 26/11/2018
29960 hits

South Infirmary

Victoria University Hospital

A teaching hospital

of University College Cork